How Long Does Compassionate Release Take?
There is no published average, because no one publishes one. Only one deadline in this process is enforceable: 18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A) lets a motion be filed in federal court 30 days after the warden receives the request. Nothing after that — the Bureau’s review, the government’s response, the judge’s ruling — carries a deadline anyone can enforce.
On this page
Key takeaways on compassionate release timing
- The 30-day lapse is the only clock in this process that a court will enforce. A defendant may file “after the defendant has fully exhausted all administrative rights to appeal a failure of the Bureau of Prisons to bring a motion on the defendant’s behalf or the lapse of 30 days from the receipt of such a request by the warden of the defendant’s facility, whichever is earlier” (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)). Day 31 is the earliest filing day, and it is the one the overwhelming majority of movants use.
- No regulation sets a deadline for the warden’s decision, and none sets one for General Counsel review. 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(a)(1) says only that the Warden “shall promptly review” the request. The single deadline in the entire compassionate release subpart binds the Director, after the case has already climbed three levels: written notice of a denial “within 20 workdays after receipt of the referral from the Office of General Counsel” (28 C.F.R. § 571.63(c)).
- No statute and no federal rule sets a deadline for a district judge to rule on a compassionate release motion. There is also no federal rule setting a government response time — Fed. R. Crim. P. 47 governs motions and says nothing about responses, leaving the deadline to each district’s local rules under Fed. R. Crim. P. 57(a)(1).
- The administrative-appeal route is not a faster path. It is the slowest one. Adding the regulation’s own maximum response times and filing windows from a warden’s denial through a BP-11 answer comes to 230 calendar days (28 C.F.R. § 542.14(a), § 542.15(a), § 542.18) — against 30 days for the statutory lapse.
- Congress wrote a statute that counts the people who die waiting. Section 3582(d)(3) requires an annual report to the Judiciary Committees on “the time elapsed between the date the request was received by the warden and the final decision” and “the number of prisoners who died while their request was pending.” That reporting duty exists because the delay problem was documented before the First Step Act was written.
- Terminal illness is the only diagnosis that triggers hard numbers. Section 3582(d)(2)(A) requires notification of family within 72 hours of a terminal diagnosis, an in-person visit opportunity within 7 days, and processing of a resulting request within 14 days — the only day-counts the statute imposes on the Bureau.
The Compassionate Release Timeline: Every Stage, Who Controls It, and What Deadline Binds Them
This is the whole sequence. Read the third column first: it is mostly empty, and that emptiness is the answer to the question this page is about. The fourth column is what you can actually do at each stage.
| # | Stage | Who controls it | Deadline that binds them | What you can do when it is missed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Assembling the request and the release plan | You and the family | None | Nothing forces this stage, so the only limit is your own preparation. The release plan is the slowest part because it depends on other people saying yes — see compassionate release plan |
| 2 | Delivery of the written request to the warden’s office | You, the person inside, or a family member | None — but this is the event that starts the only enforceable clock (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)) | Keep dated proof of delivery. Without it you cannot establish day 1 to a court |
| 3 | Warden’s initial review and decision | The Warden | None. § 571.62(a)(1) says only “shall promptly review” | Nothing compels an answer. Count 30 days from receipt and file on day 31 |
| 4 | Notice to attorney, partner, and family after a terminal diagnosis | BOP | 72 hours after the diagnosis (§ 3582(d)(2)(A)(i)) | The statute names no remedy. Document the diagnosis date, request the notice in writing, and put the failure in the motion |
| 5 | In-person visit opportunity for partner and family, including extended family | BOP | 7 days after the diagnosis (§ 3582(d)(2)(A)(ii)) | Same. A denied visit is separately reportable under § 3582(d)(3)(J) |
| 6 | Staff assistance in preparing the request, on request | BOP employees | No number — the duty is to “ensure” assistance (§ 3582(d)(2)(A)(iii)) | Make the request in writing so the refusal is documented |
| 7 | Processing a terminal-illness request submitted on the person’s behalf | BOP | 14 days of receipt (§ 3582(d)(2)(A)(iv)) | Nothing in the statute enforces it. Day 31 arrives 17 days later and does not require BOP’s cooperation |
| 8 | Expedited handling of a medical-basis request | BOP staff at every level | “[S]taff shall expedite the request at all levels” — no number (28 C.F.R. § 571.62(c)) | Cite the provision in writing to the institution; preserve it for the motion |
| 9 | Office of General Counsel review, if the warden approves | BOP General Counsel | None (§ 571.62(a)(2)) | By this point the 30 days have long run. File |
| 10 | The Director’s decision after the General Counsel referral | BOP Director | 20 workdays after receipt of the referral (28 C.F.R. § 571.63(c)) | A Director’s denial “constitutes a final administrative decision” and is itself full exhaustion (§ 571.63(d)) |
| 11 | Administrative appeal of a warden’s denial: informal resolution, BP-9, BP-10, BP-11 | You to file; BOP to answer | Filing: 20 / 20 / 30 calendar days (§ 542.14(a), § 542.15(a)). Answering: 20 / 30 / 40 days, extendable by 20 / 30 / 20 (§ 542.18) | If no response arrives in the allotted time, the inmate “may consider the absence of a response to be a denial at that level” (§ 542.18) — move up or go to court |
| 12 | Filing the § 3582(c)(1)(A) motion in the sentencing court | You and your lawyer | None. There is no statute of limitations on a compassionate release motion | This is the one stage you fully control. Day 31 or any day after |
| 13 | The government’s response | The U.S. Attorney’s Office | Nothing in the federal rules. Set by local rule or the judge — 11 days in the Western District of Texas, 14 in the District of New Mexico | Ask the court to set or shorten a briefing schedule and to rule on the papers |
| 14 | A hearing | The judge | None, and none is required — the defendant “need not be present” for a proceeding involving a reduction of sentence under § 3582(c) (Fed. R. Crim. P. 43(b)(4)) | Expect a decision on the papers and build the record accordingly |
| 15 | The ruling | The judge | None | File a notice of materially changed condition with new medical records; ask the court to expedite |
| 16 | Release after a grant | The Warden | Upon receipt of notice of the court’s order, the Warden “shall release the inmate forthwith” (28 C.F.R. § 571.62(b)) | Get the signed order and any amended judgment to the institution’s Records office the day it issues |
| 17 | Appeal of a denial | You | 14 days from entry of the order on the criminal docket (Fed. R. App. P. 4(b)(1)(A), (b)(6)) | Move under Rule 4(b)(4) for up to 30 more days on excusable neglect or good cause. See compassionate release denial |
Seventeen stages. Only a handful carry a deadline that binds the government, and three of those exist only in terminal-illness cases. The rest of the column is empty on purpose, because that is what the regulations say.
The One Clock That Is Real: 30 Days From the Warden’s Receipt
The 30-day rule is the only compassionate release deadline a court will enforce against the Bureau of Prisons, and it is enforced by letting you leave the agency behind rather than by making the agency act. The statute gives two routes to court and tells you which controls: full exhaustion of administrative appeals or “the lapse of 30 days from the receipt of such a request by the warden of the defendant’s facility, whichever is earlier.” 18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A). That last phrase is the whole argument for filing on day 31.
When the clock starts
It starts on receipt by the warden’s office, not on the day the request was written, mailed, or handed to a counselor. BOP’s own policy says the same thing: a request “is considered ‘submitted’ for the purposes of 18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1), when received by the Warden” (PS 5050.51, § 3). For a person in a Residential Reentry Center or on home confinement, the “Warden” is the Residential Reentry Manager, and BOP counts the 30 days from that office’s receipt. That single sentence is why the most valuable thing a family can do on the day a request goes in is create proof of the date it arrived.
How to count the 30 days
Count them under Fed. R. Crim. P. 45(a), which governs “any time period specified in these rules, in any local rule or court order, or in any statute that does not specify a method of computing time.” Section 3582 specifies no method, so Rule 45(a) applies: exclude the day of receipt, count every day including weekends and holidays, and if the thirtieth day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period runs to the next business day. In practice: warden receives the request on March 3, day 30 is April 2, and the motion may be filed on April 3.
If the warden answers inside 30 days
This is genuinely unsettled and no page should tell you otherwise. Some district courts read the “lapse of 30 days” route as available only when 30 days pass without a response, which would push a person who got a fast denial into the full administrative appeal chain; others read the 30 days as a flat waiting period that runs regardless of any answer. The Second Circuit laid the split out and declined to resolve it, adding in a footnote that “[t]he circuit courts also appear to be divided on this issue.” United States v. Saladino, 7 F.4th 120 (2d Cir. 2021), and n.2. The Sixth Circuit’s formulation is the broader one: “[p]risoners who seek compassionate release have the option to take their claim to federal court within 30 days, no matter the appeals available to them.” United States v. Alam, 960 F.3d 831, 834 (6th Cir. 2020).
What that means for a real decision: if the denial came from the warden, file after day 30 and explain in the motion why the requirement is satisfied under either reading. If the denial came from General Counsel or the Director, there is no ambiguity at all — 28 C.F.R. § 571.63(b)–(d) makes those final administrative decisions that cannot be appealed further, which means exhaustion is already complete.
Filing early is the one timing mistake that ends the case
In Alam the defendant filed 10 days after the warden received his request. The Sixth Circuit affirmed dismissal without prejudice, because exhaustion is a mandatory claim-processing rule that “must be enforced” when properly invoked. That dismissal costs months, and for a person whose condition is worsening, months are the whole case. The route that created the 30-day option in the first place is described on our page about compassionate release first step act.
Every Deadline in the Process That Actually Binds the Government
Five provisions in this process put a time obligation on the government, and three of them apply only after a terminal illness has been diagnosed. Here they are, quoted, in the order they can arise.
The terminal-illness clocks: 72 hours, 7 days, and 14 days
Section 3582(d)(1) defines “terminal illness” as “a disease or condition with an end-of-life trajectory.” Note what that definition does not contain: any number of months. Once a defendant is diagnosed with a terminal illness, § 3582(d)(2)(A) requires the Bureau to:
- not later than 72 hours after the diagnosis, notify the defendant’s attorney, partner, and family members of the condition and inform them “that they may prepare and submit on the defendant’s behalf a request for a sentence reduction”;
- not later than 7 days after the date of the diagnosis, provide the partner and family members “(including extended family) with an opportunity to visit the defendant in person”;
- upon request, ensure that BOP employees “assist the defendant in the preparation, drafting, and submission of a request”; and
- not later than 14 days of receipt of a request submitted on the defendant’s behalf, “process the request.”
A parallel set of duties applies where a defendant is “physically or mentally unable to submit a request.” § 3582(d)(2)(B). And § 3582(d)(2)(C) requires every BOP facility to “regularly and visibly post, including in prisoner handbooks, staff training materials, and facility law libraries and medical and hospice facilities” notice of the right to request a reduction and “the procedures and timelines for initiating and resolving requests.”
Two things matter about these numbers. First, the 72-hour clock is a period stated in hours, which under Fed. R. Crim. P. 45(a)(2) begins running immediately on the diagnosis and counts every hour including weekends. Second, the statute imposes these duties and names no remedy for a violation. There is no provision saying what happens if the Bureau misses one. That is why the practical response is documentary: get the diagnosis date in writing, make every request in writing, and put each missed duty in the motion, where it becomes evidence of how the agency handled a dying person’s case. The substantive standard for medical claims is covered on our page about compassionate release medical condition.
The Director’s 20 workdays
28 C.F.R. § 571.63(c) requires the Director to give written notice and a statement of reasons for a denial “within 20 workdays after receipt of the referral from the Office of General Counsel.” Read that carefully: it binds only the Director, only after the warden has approved and General Counsel has forwarded the file, and neither of those earlier steps has a deadline. Twenty workdays means four full working weeks, which lands close to a month on the calendar because weekends and federal holidays are not counted. For age-based claims that spend a long time in institutional review, see compassionate release for elderly inmates.
“Shall expedite the request at all levels”
Where the basis of the request is the inmate’s medical condition, “staff shall expedite the request at all levels.” 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(c). This is a duty without a number. It is worth citing in writing to the institution and worth quoting in the motion, because it is the Bureau’s own regulation telling its own staff to move. It is not something that produces an answer by any date.
“Shall release the inmate forthwith”
The last real deadline is at the end. “Upon receipt of notice that the sentencing court has entered an order granting the motion under 18 U.S.C. 3582(c)(1)(A), the Warden of the institution where the inmate is confined shall release the inmate forthwith.” 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(b). The operative words are “upon receipt of notice.” Nothing in the regulation makes the notice travel on its own. Getting the signed order and any amended judgment into the hands of the institution’s Records office is a task, not an event, and it is one of the few places where a few hours of effort buys a measurable amount of freedom.
Applied Insight — Christopher Zoukis, JD, MBA, Managing Director: The day an order granting release is entered is not the day anyone at the institution knows about it. Records offices work from documents they actually receive, and a docket entry in a district three time zones away is not a document they have. When a grant comes in, we send the signed order and the amended judgment to the institution the same day, by more than one channel, and we confirm that a named person in Records has it — because “forthwith” in § 571.62(b) starts running on receipt of notice, and until somebody delivers that notice, nothing has started at all.
The Deadlines That Do Not Exist
No regulation sets a deadline for the warden’s initial decision. No regulation sets a deadline for General Counsel review. No statute or rule sets a deadline for a district judge to rule. Those three sentences answer most of what people actually want to know, and almost no page states them plainly.
The review chain itself is fully specified. 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(a) provides that the Bureau makes a motion “only after review of the request by the Warden, the General Counsel, and either the Medical Director for medical referrals or the Assistant Director, Correctional Programs Division for non-medical referrals, and with the approval of the Director.” Four levels, each named. What the regulation gives none of them except the Director is a time limit. The Warden “shall promptly review.” The General Counsel “shall solicit the opinion” of the Medical Director or Assistant Director and of “the United States Attorney in the district in which the inmate was sentenced,” then forward the matter to the Director “subject to the general supervision and direction of the Attorney General and Deputy Attorney General.” No numbers anywhere in that sentence.
This gap has been examined before. The DOJ Office of the Inspector General looked at it directly and found that the Bureau “has no timeliness standards for reviewing compassionate release requests,” that only “33 out of 100 Wardens (33 percent) reported having a designated timeframe for reviewing requests at their institution,” and that among institutions that did have one, “the timeframe ranged from 5 to 65 days.” The Federal Bureau of Prisons’ Compassionate Release Program, DOJ OIG I-2013-006 (Apr. 2013), at 28. A Bureau Senior Counsel told the OIG “there are no timeframes because of the unexpected and individualized nature of each request.”
The current Program Statement, PS 5050.51 (Sept. 3, 2026), does not fill the gap. It repeats the regulation’s “promptly review” and “expedite” language, and the only numbers it adds are internal ones: in a terminal case the Clinical Director must tell the warden and unit manager within 24 hours of the diagnosis and the warden must forward the referral to the Office of General Counsel within 14 days (§ 4.a); in other cases the warden “should wait a minimum of 30 days after sending victim notifications before referring the case” (§ 10). That last rule is a waiting period, not a deadline, and where victim notification applies it alone carries an approved referral past day 30. That is one reason the operative documents are the statute and the C.F.R. rather than the policy. Our summary of the policy itself is at BOP Program Statement 5050.51.
So the practical shape of this stage is: you submit, and then either the Bureau acts or it does not, and either way the statute lets you leave on day 31. Waiting past day 31 for an answer buys nothing that any rule requires anyone to deliver.
How Long the Administrative-Remedy Route Takes If You Use It
Far longer than 30 days. A warden’s denial can be appealed through the Bureau’s administrative remedy program, 28 C.F.R. § 571.63(a), and people commonly assume that appeal is required before going to court. It is not — the statute says “whichever is earlier.” Here is what choosing the appeal route costs, using only the regulation’s own numbers.
| Step | Filing window | Response time | Extension allowed | Running maximum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Informal resolution (commonly called the BP-8) | Before the BP-9 (§ 542.13) | Not specified | — | Not countable |
| BP-9 — Request to the Warden | 20 calendar days (§ 542.14(a)) | 20 calendar days (§ 542.18) | Once, by 20 days | 60 days |
| BP-10 — Appeal to the Regional Director | 20 calendar days from the date the Warden signed (§ 542.15(a)) | 30 calendar days | Once, by 30 days | 140 days |
| BP-11 — Appeal to General Counsel | 30 calendar days from the date the Regional Director signed (§ 542.15(a)) | 40 calendar days | Once, by 20 days | 230 days |
Two hundred thirty calendar days — roughly seven and a half months — is the regulation’s ceiling, not an observed average, and it sits on top of a warden review that has no deadline at all. Counting only the response times and ignoring the filing windows, the OIG did the same arithmetic and reached 90 days without extensions and 160 days with them, adding that for people with terminal conditions “these timeliness standards likely provide little to no meaningful opportunity to pursue an appeal.” DOJ OIG I-2013-006 at 29.
What the appeals actually took, when someone measured them, is the more useful number. Reviewing Bureau administrative-remedy data from 2006 through 2011, the OIG found that 273 inmates filed 636 appeals relating to compassionate release requests. Regional Directors responded in 19 days on average and within the 30-day standard in 306 of 366 cases (84 percent). General Counsel responded in 40 days on average, within the 40-day standard in 164 of 270 appeals (61 percent), exceeded even the extended 60-day period in 64 of 270 (24 percent), and in 22 of those took more than 100 days. In one case the General Counsel took 303 calendar days to answer a single appeal. DOJ OIG I-2013-006 at 40–41.
Three rules inside that table decide most real cases. Appeal deadlines run from the date the response was signed, not the date it was handed to the person — delivery inside a facility takes days and those days come out of the window (§ 542.15(a)). Silence is something you can act on: “[i]f the inmate does not receive a response within the time allotted for reply, including extension, the inmate may consider the absence of a response to be a denial at that level” (§ 542.18). And an emergency gets a real number — a Request “determined to be of an emergency nature which threatens the inmate’s immediate health or welfare” must be answered “not later than the third calendar day after filing” (§ 542.18). The mechanics of the grievance system generally are covered on our page about the BOP administrative remedy program.
What Happens on the Court Side, and How Long That Takes
Once the motion is filed, the pace belongs to a district judge who is under no deadline. That is uncomfortable to read and it is the accurate answer. Here is what the court stage consists of and what governs each piece of it.
The government’s response
There is no federal rule setting one. Fed. R. Crim. P. 47 governs motions and requires only that a written motion be served “at least 7 days before the hearing date.” It says nothing about when an opponent must respond. That deadline comes instead from each district’s local rules, which districts may adopt under Fed. R. Crim. P. 57(a)(1), and from the individual judge’s standing orders. The numbers genuinely differ: the Western District of Texas requires a response “within 11 days of service of the motion” (Local Rule CR-47(b)), while the District of New Mexico allows fourteen, plus another fourteen for a reply (Local Rule 47.8(a)). Before filing anywhere, read that district’s local criminal rules and the assigned judge’s standing orders — those two documents, not any national rule, are what set the briefing calendar.
Extensions are routine and are granted under Fed. R. Crim. P. 45(b), which lets the court extend time on its own or, “for good cause,” on a party’s motion. Extension requests in these cases are frequently about obtaining BOP medical records, which is also where a well-prepared motion saves calendar time: if the medical exhibits are already complete and indexed as filed, there is less left to ask for.
Whether there is a hearing
Usually not. Fed. R. Crim. P. 43(b)(4) provides that a defendant “need not be present” where “[t]he proceeding involves the correction or reduction of sentence under Rule 35 or 18 U.S.C. §3582 (c).” The rule’s own history explains why. The Advisory Committee wrote that requiring the person’s presence where a court is only reducing a sentence would mean “the delay and expense” of bringing someone to court from a distant institution, and a 1998 amendment made the § 3582(c) application explicit. The practical consequence is that these motions are ordinarily decided on the papers, so the papers have to carry everything — the medical record, the compassionate release plan, the 3553(a) factors argument, and the danger to the community analysis under § 3142(g).
When the judge rules
There is no answer to this that anyone can enforce. Congress’s one general response to slow rulings is disclosure rather than a deadline: the Administrative Office publishes a semiannual public report listing, for each judicial officer, “the number of motions that have been pending for more than six months and the name of each case in which such motion has been pending.” 28 U.S.C. § 476(a)(1). That provision was enacted as part of the Civil Justice Reform Act of 1990 and creates no entitlement to a ruling by any date in any case.
What does move a court is a changed record. If the person’s condition deteriorates materially after filing, that is a new fact, it can be put in front of the judge by supplemental filing, and it is the strongest basis for asking the court to take the motion up sooner. What the court is deciding, and how the 2026 Supreme Court decisions narrowed the grounds it may consider, is covered on our page about rutherford v united states.
After a grant
A grant is not the same thing as a release date. The court enters an order reducing the term of imprisonment — and may impose “a term of probation or supervised release with or without conditions that does not exceed the unserved portion of the original term of imprisonment” (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)) — and that order then has to reach the institution before § 571.62(b)‘s “forthwith” obligation can begin. Records must recompute, the release plan address must be the one the order and U.S. Probation actually have, and transportation has to exist. None of that is automatic.
Applied Insight — Elizabeth Franklin-Best, Esq., Principal Attorney: The way a compassionate release motion is built determines how much of the calendar the court needs. We file with the medical record already complete and indexed, the release plan already confirmed with a named residence and a named provider, and every ground already stated in the request that went to the warden — because each of those removes a reason for a continuance, a supplemental briefing order, or a request for records. We also tell the court, in the motion itself, what has changed since the last set of records and what the treating physician expects, so that the file the judge reads on the day it is picked up is current rather than four months old. None of that guarantees a fast ruling. It removes the avoidable reasons for a slow one.
What the Government’s Own Data Says About Delay
Congress ordered the Bureau of Prisons to count how long this takes and how many people die waiting. The Inspector General found the Bureau was not counting. Those two facts, side by side, are the most honest answer to “how long does compassionate release take.”
Start with the statute. Section 3582(d)(3), added by the First Step Act in December 2018, requires the Director of the Bureau of Prisons to report annually to the Senate and House Judiciary Committees on eleven categories of information about sentence-reduction requests. Two of them are about time and death:
- (G) “for each request, the time elapsed between the date the request was received by the warden and the final decision, categorized by the criteria relied on as the grounds for a reduction in sentence”; and
- (H) “for each request, the number of prisoners who died while their request was pending and, for each, the amount of time that had elapsed between the date the request was received by the Bureau of Prisons.”
A third, (K), requires the number of motions defendants filed in court after exhausting, “the outcome of each motion, and the time that had elapsed between the date the request was first received by the Bureau of Prisons and the date the defendant filed the motion with the court.” Congress does not write reporting requirements like that about a process it believes is fast.
Now the era before that statute existed. In April 2013 the DOJ Office of the Inspector General reviewed the program and found:
- The Bureau released an average of 24 people a year through compassionate release. “We found that, on average, only 24 inmates are released each year through the BOP’s compassionate release program.” DOJ OIG I-2013-006 at 1 (average based on inmates approved and released, 2006 through 2011).
- Of 211 requests that reached the Director between 2006 and 2011 — meaning requests a warden and a regional director had already approved — 28 ended with the person dying before a decision was made. That is 13 percent of the 208 case files the OIG reviewed. Id. at 34.
- The Bureau could not say how long any of it took. “[T]he BOP does not track the time it takes to approve or deny requests. As a result, the BOP cannot determine if delays in the process exist, take corrective actions where delays occur, or ensure that inmates who may be eligible for the program, particularly those with terminal illnesses, are considered for release in a timely manner.” Id. at iii.
- The Bureau did not even know the denominator. Requests were tracked centrally only after both a warden and a regional director had approved them, so “the number of compassionate release requests made by inmates during this period cannot be determined.” Id. at 34–35.
That report describes the pre-First Step Act system, when only the Director could file a motion. The architecture changed in December 2018; the absence of deadlines in 28 C.F.R. §§ 571.62 and 571.63 did not.
And this is why no honest page publishes an average. The Sentencing Commission’s compassionate release data reports count motions decided and the reasons courts gave — 2,795 motions decided nationally in FY2025 and 894 in the first half of FY2026 (USSC FY2025 Compassionate Release Data Report and FY2026 Q1–Q2 Report, Table 2) — but they publish no processing-time figure at all. If you want a number, the two real ones are 30 days from the warden’s receipt to the courthouse door, and whatever the sentencing district’s local rule gives the government to respond — 11 days in the Western District of Texas, 14 in the District of New Mexico. Everything after that depends on a docket. What the outcome data does show, district by district, is on our page about the compassionate release grant rate.
How to Make It Faster: What Actually Moves the Clock
Five things shorten a compassionate release timeline. None of them involve waiting for the Bureau of Prisons.
- File on day 31. Not day 45, not “after we hear back.” The statute’s phrase is “whichever is earlier,” and no regulation obliges the warden to answer at all. 18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A); 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(a)(1).
- Build the release plan before the request goes in, not after the government objects. The residence, the named treating provider with an actual intake appointment, the payment source for care, and U.S. Probation’s approval of the address are all things that depend on other people saying yes, and they take longer than the medical records do. 28 C.F.R. § 571.61(a)(2) requires them at the warden stage, and the court will want the same things in more detail. That is the whole subject of our compassionate release plan page.
- Get a terminal diagnosis documented and dated, if that is the situation. The § 3582(d) duties attach on diagnosis, not on request, and the 72-hour, 7-day, and 14-day clocks are the only day-counts the statute imposes on the Bureau. A diagnosis date in the medical record is what makes them real.
- Ask the court to expedite on a documented showing of deterioration. A supplemental filing with new records, a treating physician’s current statement, and a specific request for expedited consideration is a different document from a motion that has been sitting. Judges act on new facts.
- Put every ground in the request to the warden the first time. Grounds raised for the first time in court can draw a failure-to-exhaust argument in circuits that require issue exhaustion, and the fix is a new request and another 30 days. The mechanics are on our compassionate release request to warden page.
And one thing that does not help: running the BP-9 / BP-10 / BP-11 chain because a warden said no. That converts a 30-day wait into a process whose regulatory ceiling is 230 days. Where a person genuinely is not eligible for the statutory route at all, the analysis is different and is covered on our who is not eligible for compassionate release page. Choosing between routes on the facts of a particular case and the law of a particular circuit is what compassionate release attorneys are for.
Applied Insight — Christopher Zoukis, JD, MBA, Managing Director: Families almost always work the sequence backwards. Six weeks go into gathering medical records, the request goes in, and only then does anyone start calling landlords, clinics, and the probation office. Do it the other way. Medical records will arrive; a confirmed intake appointment with a named provider on a named date will not arrive on its own, and it is the piece that decides whether a release plan reads as real. Start those calls the week you decide to file — they run in parallel with the 30 days, and they are the part of this timeline you actually control.
If the Motion Is Denied: The 14-Day Appeal Clock
A denial starts the shortest and least forgiving deadline in the entire process, and it does not wait for the mail. In a criminal case a defendant’s notice of appeal “must be filed in the district court within 14 days after the later of: (i) the entry of either the judgment or the order being appealed; or (ii) the filing of the government’s notice of appeal.” Fed. R. App. P. 4(b)(1)(A). The Eleventh Circuit applied that rule to the denial of a § 3582(c)(1)(A) motion in United States v. Travis, No. 25-12927 (11th Cir. July 27, 2026) (not for publication).
Three details decide whether that appeal survives.
“Entry” means docketing, not delivery. Rule 4(b)(6): “A judgment or order is entered for purposes of this Rule 4(b) when it is entered on the criminal docket.” The 14 days start the day the clerk dockets the order. A person in a federal institution may not have that order in hand for a week or more. The clock runs anyway.
The prison mailbox rule is the mitigation on the front end. If an institution has a system designed for legal mail, an inmate must use it, and then the notice “is timely if it is deposited in the institution’s internal mail system on or before the last day for filing” accompanied by a declaration under 28 U.S.C. § 1746 setting out the date of deposit and stating that first-class postage is prepaid, or by a postmark or date stamp showing the same. Fed. R. App. P. 4(c)(1).
Rule 4(b)(4) is the mitigation on the back end. “Upon a finding of excusable neglect or good cause, the district court may — before or after the time has expired, with or without motion and notice — extend the time to file a notice of appeal for a period not to exceed 30 days from the expiration of the time otherwise prescribed by this Rule 4(b).” Fed. R. App. P. 4(b)(4). Late receipt of the order in a prison is the paradigm case for that motion, and it should be filed the day the problem is discovered rather than after research.
One more timing trap belongs here. A second motion that presents the same legal question as the first is treated as a motion for reconsideration “regardless of how they are labelled,” and is measured against Rule 4(b)’s clock rather than starting a fresh one. United States v. Mofle, No. 20-1212 (8th Cir. Mar. 2, 2021) (published). A genuinely new motion resting on materially changed circumstances is a different filing with no deadline at all — that distinction, and when re-filing makes sense, is covered on our page on can you file compassionate release twice. What to do in the days immediately after an order comes back denied is on our compassionate release denial page, and the appellate practice itself is described at federal appeals attorney.
Why work with Elizabeth Franklin-Best, P.C.
Elizabeth Franklin-Best is the founder and Principal Attorney of Elizabeth Franklin-Best, P.C., a boutique firm devoted to federal criminal appeals and post-conviction relief. Over more than 20 years she has handled more than 330 federal proceedings, over 100 of them appeals, with sixteen published decisions as counsel of record. She is admitted to the U.S. Supreme Court and twelve of the thirteen U.S. Courts of Appeals — every regional circuit (1st–11th) plus the D.C. Circuit — and has appeared pro hac vice in federal courts from Montana to Florida. She is recognized by Best Lawyers in America 2026 for Appellate Practice and by Chambers USA 2026 for Litigation: White-Collar Crime & Government Investigations, was named South Carolina Public Defender of the Year in 2010, and is the author of Reversing Your Criminal Conviction: Develop Your Winning Strategy (2023).
Christopher Zoukis, JD, MBA, is the firm’s Managing Director and a nationally recognized federal prison expert. He is the author of the Federal Prison Handbook, Directory of Federal Prisons, Prison Education Guide, and College for Convicts, and serves as Chairman of the Board of the Human Rights Defense Center. He has been quoted as a federal prison expert by outlets including CNN, the Associated Press, and The Washington Post. He earned his J.D. at the University of California, Davis School of Law after serving roughly a decade in the federal Bureau of Prisons, where he became an award-winning incarcerated journalist. The firm’s work on BOP records, sentence computation, and institutional advocacy is described at federal prison consulting services; the legal work on any compassionate release motion is handled by Elizabeth Franklin-Best and the firm’s attorneys.
The firm runs a national federal practice on an intentionally small caseload, from offices in Columbia and Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. Requests go to whatever institution holds the person; motions are filed in the district that imposed the sentence, wherever in the country that is.
Talk to a federal compassionate release lawyer
If someone in your family is seriously ill, declining with age, or the only person who can care for a child, the useful first step is a look at the actual dates — when a request went to the warden, whether anyone can prove the date it arrived, what the medical record currently says, and which district the sentence came from.
Call (843) 620-1100 or schedule a consultation directly. We handle federal compassionate release motions nationwide, and if the answer is that the clock has already run and the motion should be filed now, that is what we will tell you. For the full overview of this practice area, see our page for federal compassionate release lawyers.
Frequently Asked Questions About Compassionate Release Timelines
How long does compassionate release take?
There is no published average — the Bureau of Prisons told the DOJ Inspector General it “does not track the time it takes to approve or deny requests,” and the Sentencing Commission publishes no processing-time figure. What is fixed is the front end: a motion may be filed in federal court 30 days after the warden receives the request (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)). After that, no deadline binds anyone.
What is the 30-day rule for compassionate release?
The 30-day rule lets a defendant file a compassionate release motion once 30 days have passed from “the receipt of such a request by the warden of the defendant’s facility,” without waiting for a decision or an appeal (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)). The statute says a movant takes whichever route is earlier — full administrative exhaustion or the 30-day lapse. Count from receipt, not from mailing.
How long does the warden have to respond?
There is no deadline. 28 C.F.R. § 571.62(a)(1) says only that the Warden “shall promptly review” the request, and the DOJ Inspector General found that only 33 of 100 wardens surveyed had any internal timeframe at all, ranging from 5 to 65 days. Because no answer is required, the 30-day statutory lapse — not the warden’s silence — is what controls when you may go to court.
Is there a deadline for the judge to rule?
No. No statute and no Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure sets a time limit for a district judge to decide a § 3582(c)(1)(A) motion. The only general federal mechanism aimed at judicial delay is a disclosure rule: the Administrative Office publishes a semiannual public report listing motions pending more than six months (28 U.S.C. § 476(a)(1)). It creates no right to a ruling by any date.
Can a compassionate release motion be expedited?
Yes, by asking. Nothing entitles a movant to expedited treatment, but courts respond to changed facts — a supplemental filing with current medical records and a treating physician’s statement of deterioration is the standard vehicle. On the agency side, where the basis is a medical condition, “staff shall expedite the request at all levels” (28 C.F.R. § 571.62(c)), a duty with no number attached to it.
What happens if the BOP never responds?
Nothing happens, and nothing has to. No regulation requires the warden to answer a compassionate release request. Silence is exactly why the statute provides the 30-day lapse route: file the motion on day 31 in the district that imposed the sentence (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(1)(A)). Within the administrative remedy program, non-response is different — the inmate “may consider the absence of a response to be a denial at that level” (28 C.F.R. § 542.18).
How long do terminal illness cases take?
Terminal illness triggers the only firm numbers the statute imposes on the Bureau: notification of attorney, partner, and family within 72 hours of the diagnosis, an in-person visit opportunity within 7 days, and processing of a request within 14 days of receipt (18 U.S.C. § 3582(d)(2)(A)). The statute names no remedy for a missed duty, so the 30-day route to court still governs when a motion may be filed. Document the diagnosis date.
Reviewed for legal accuracy by Elizabeth Franklin-Best, Esq., Principal Attorney·September 2026