Representing Clients NationwideCall Us Today(843) 620-1100

FCI Butner Medium I: Visiting, Mail, Camp and Records

Get a Consultation

FCI Butner Medium I at a glance

FCI Butner Medium I is a medium-security prison for men, with a minimum-security satellite camp beside it, on the Federal Correctional Complex at Butner, one of the federal prisons in North Carolina. It held 823 people as of September 2026, 536 in the medium and 287 at the camp, and houses the Bureau’s program for men certified or civilly committed as “sexually dangerous” under 18 U.S.C. § 4248.

Official nameFCI Butner Medium I
BOP codeBUT (medium and camp) · complex BUX
Security levelMedium; men · satellite camp: minimum
Population823 (as of September 2026) · medium 536 · camp 287
VisitingSaturdays, Sundays, and federal holidays, 8:30 a.m.–3:00 p.m. · Fridays 2:00–8:00 p.m., Maryland and Annex units only · camp Fridays 5:00–8:00 p.m. · see which schedule controls
Inmate mailFCI: Inmate name and register number · FCI Butner Medium I · Federal Correctional Institution · P.O. Box 1000 · Butner, NC 27509
Camp: Inmate name and register number · FCI Butner Medium I · Federal Correctional Institution · Satellite Camp · P.O. Box 1000 · Butner, NC 27509
Send moneyLockbox · Western Union (code city FBOP, DC) · MoneyGram (receive code 7932)
Phone919-575-4541 · Fax 919-575-2091
Street addressOld NC Hwy 75, Butner, NC 27509 · Granville County
Judicial districtEastern District of North Carolina
BOP regionMid-Atlantic
Designated capacity492 (medium) · 303 (camp)
Housing17 housing units for the medium and camp: nine of shared cells, eight open-bay or dormitory; no single-cell units
Special Housing UnitNone at the medium or camp · see where segregation is
Medical care levelLevel 3 (medium and camp)
Mental health care levelLevel 3 (medium) · Level 2 (camp)
RDAPYes, at the medium; none at the camp
Sex offender treatmentCommitment and Treatment Program for men certified or committed under 18 U.S.C. § 4248
UNICORYes · see work and UNICOR
CampYes; minimum-security satellite camp

It stands off Old North Carolina Highway 75 in Granville County, in the Eastern District of North Carolina and the Bureau’s Mid-Atlantic Region. It is the original Butner prison, dedicated in 1976, and besides an ordinary medium-security population and the civil-commitment program, it handles court-ordered forensic evaluations and runs a residential drug program and a residential mental-health unit.

FCI Butner Medium I in Butner, North Carolina: the low gray entrance building, with a round tower behind it
The entrance to FCI Butner Medium I, the first prison built at Butner, with a round tower rising behind the building. Photograph: Federal Bureau of Prisons.

Which Butner prison is FCI Butner Medium I?

FCI Butner Medium I is the Butner prison with facility code BUT, P.O. Box 1000, and the 919-575-4541 switchboard, and it is the only one of the four with a camp. Four federal prisons share the reservation, the road address, and the complex code BUX, and Bureau records call this one FCI Butner Medium I, FCI Butner I, FCI-I, FCI I, or, in the 2026 visiting supplement, simply “FCI.”

The four differ in code, security level, mailing address, and telephone number (populations as of September 2026):

InstitutionCodeSecurityPopulationInmate mailTelephone
FCI Butner Medium I (this page)BUTMedium536P.O. Box 1000919-575-4541
Medium I’s satellite campBUTMinimum287P.O. Box 1000, with a “Satellite Camp” line919-575-4541
FCI Butner Medium IIBTFMedium1,304P.O. Box 1500919-575-8000
FCI Butner LowBUFLow942P.O. Box 999919-575-5000
FMC ButnerBUHAdministrative (medical center)801P.O. Box 1600919-575-3900

Three things follow. First, the Bureau’s Inmate Locator names an institution, not a building, and “Butner Medium I FCI” covers the medium and the camp together: the Locator’s records file Antwan Lopez Clemons, whom the Bureau describes as a camp resident, under Medium I’s code, BUT, and do the same for the two camp prisoners whose deaths the Bureau announced in 2020. A prisoner’s unit team can tell you which side of the fence he is on.

Second, the camp is Medium I’s. The roster gives a camp to BUT and to no other Butner code, the population report counts “BUTNER-CAMP” under Medium I, and the Inspector General called the camp “adjacent to and part of FCI I” in 2021; the “Satellite Camp” block with P.O. Box 1000 on FCI Butner Low’s web page belongs to Medium I.

Third, many records say only “FCI Butner,” including a federal judge’s June 2025 order in R. Kelly’s case, and the Locator shows him at “Butner Medium I FCI”; the Locator’s entry, not the phrase, settles which prison such a record means. Where Bureau papers disagree about a box number, follow the mailing address on the Bureau’s web page for each institution, not the complex visiting supplement, which prints P.O. Box 1500 beside the medical center.

Why the federal court is the Eastern District of North Carolina

Congress wrote this prison into the statute that draws North Carolina’s federal districts. Under 28 U.S.C. § 113(a), the Eastern District takes in Granville County and “that portion of Durham County encompassing the Federal Correctional Institution, Butner, North Carolina,” and § 113(b) removes that ground from the Middle District. A § 4248 certificate, which goes to the court “for the district in which the person is confined,” and a habeas petition challenging present confinement therefore both belong in the Eastern District. A motion under 28 U.S.C. § 2255 attacking the conviction or sentence goes to the sentencing court instead; our page on the difference between § 2255 and § 2241 explains the line.

What is the security level at FCI Butner Medium I?

FCI Butner Medium I is a medium-security institution for men, with a minimum-security camp attached. The Bureau’s roster classifies it as medium security, its web page adds “an adjacent minimum security satellite camp,” and the January 2026 audit form lists the custody levels held there as “In/Out/Community, Medium, Minimum.”

Placement turns on the security score and the Public Safety Factors in the Bureau’s security designation and custody classification policy, Program Statement 5100.08 (2006, amended through 2026). A man scoring 16 to 23 points with no factor is a medium case, and more than 20 years left to serve means “at least a Medium security level institution” unless the factor is waived. The Sex Offender factor requires at least a low-security institution, and the policy applies it without a conviction when the presentence report or other official documentation “clearly indicates” the conduct. A minimum-security camp takes men scoring 0 to 11 with no factor at all, so a man carrying the Sex Offender factor cannot be placed in Butner’s camp, whatever his score, unless it is waived.

Medium I is not a typical medium. The Inspector General recorded in January 2021 that its population included “high security inmates, gang members, civilly committed sex offenders, and Mental Health Care Level 3 inmates,” the last group needing weekly mental-health intervention or a residential program. The same report gives the Bureau’s classification of the medium and its camp as Medical Care Level 3, the second-highest of four; the medical center down the road is Level 4. The Bureau’s 2024 medical care-level chart, released under the Freedom of Information Act, lists the medium and the camp at Level 3 as well, and its undated mental-health chart lists the medium at mental health Level 3 and the camp at Level 2.

The January 2026 audit form counts no segregation cells at the medium or the camp; all 96 on the complex are at Medium II, and the April 2026 visiting supplement places the complex’s Special Housing Units “at the LSCI, and FCI II.” The two records disagree about the low, and neither says where a Medium I man placed in segregation is held.

What is the civil commitment program at FCI Butner Medium I?

It is the Bureau’s Commitment and Treatment Program, which confines and treats men certified or civilly committed as sexually dangerous persons under 18 U.S.C. § 4248, and the Bureau’s current records place it at Medium I. The 2026–2027 psychology internship brochure lists every one of the program’s staff posts at “FCI-I” and states its mission as protecting the public “by reducing the incidence of sexual violence and child molestation.” Its clinical service treats participants in a modified therapeutic community, and its forensic service writes pre-certification evaluations, sexual dangerousness evaluations, and annual treatment progress reviews.

How a § 4248 case reaches Butner

Under § 4248(a), “the Attorney General or any individual authorized by the Attorney General or the Director of the Bureau of Prisons” may certify that someone in Bureau custody is sexually dangerous, and the certificate “shall stay the release of the person” while the court decides. Commitment requires clear and convincing evidence at a hearing. If neither the state where he lived nor the state where he was tried takes responsibility for a committed man, he is held for treatment until one does or until he is no longer sexually dangerous. The Supreme Court upheld Congress’s power to enact the law in United States v. Comstock, 560 U.S. 126 (2010), a case that began in the court that serves Butner.

The Inmate Locator holds a record for a Graydon Earl Comstock, Jr., the lead respondent’s full name with its suffix, filed under BUT at register number 09056-031, released December 9, 2011. The Locator does not tie a register number to a court case, so that match rests on the name alone.

The Fourth Circuit explained the concentration in United States v. Timms, 664 F.3d 436 (4th Cir. 2012): “nearly all § 4248 civil commitment actions nationwide are now filed and adjudicated in the Eastern District of North Carolina,” and “The BOP apparently selected FCI-Butner as the facility for § 4248(a) commitments.” The court also noted certificates filed “mere days before an individual’s expected release date” and told the government to certify early enough to limit the wait for a hearing, while finding no due-process violation in Timms’s own case.

Timing matters most to a family. A man nearing release can be referred for a pre-certification evaluation, which the brochure describes as not court-ordered, and a certificate filed before his release date stops that date from taking effect. Counsel should be involved before the date, not after it.

Court-ordered evaluations

Medium I also holds people whom federal courts send for mental-health evaluations. The psychology brochure describes an “outpatient” forensic evaluation mission “housed at FCI-I through the CTP,” and says the program’s forensic staff, besides their civil-commitment work, conduct “competency and responsibility evaluations for pre-trial AICs unaffiliated with the CTP”; the complex’s inpatient forensic evaluations are done at FMC Butner. That mission explains the pretrial detainees in Medium I’s record, among them Darrell Wayne Lunsford, whose death the Bureau announced in July 2025: he was “a pretrial inmate at FCI Butner Medium I for a court-ordered evaluation for competency.”

Rules in the program’s housing units

The program’s units can run under tighter rules than the rest of the prison. The Bureau’s sex offender programs policy, Program Statement 5324.10, lets a warden, “[t]o maintain a therapeutic milieu” in units such as the Commitment and Treatment Program, restrict categories of personal property and publications unit-wide through an institution supplement; none is posted on Medium I’s Bureau page. In Ballard v. Johns, 17 F. Supp. 3d 511 (E.D.N.C. 2014), a man held in the program at FCI Butner since October 2010 to await his commitment hearing challenged restrictions on his mail, telephone use, and religious services, and the court held that he was “properly subject to the restrictions and disciplinary consequences of the CTP.”

Bureau papers also trace where the program has lived. The 2008 handbook put the “Civil Commitment Sex Offenders Program” in the Maryland and Maryland Annex units; the 2017 visiting supplement gave those two units alone a Friday session and had Annex residents handcuffed behind the back on the way to visits; and the April 2026 supplement still reserves Friday visiting for “Maryland & Annex.” No current Bureau document says what the two units hold today.

Who are the notable inmates at FCI Butner Medium I?

The best-known man the Inmate Locator places at Medium I today is Robert Sylvester Kelly, the singer known as R. Kelly; most other famous names tied to this prison left decades ago or died in custody. The table gives each man’s register number and his Bureau record:

NameRegister numberLocator record, September 16, 2026Why the name is known
Robert Sylvester Kelly (R. Kelly)09627-035BUT; projected release January 31, 2046Convicted in Chicago of inducing a minor to engage in sexually explicit conduct and producing child pornography; 240 months, 228 of them concurrent with his 30-year sentence from the Eastern District of New York
Jonathan Jay Pollard09185-016BUT; released November 20, 2015Pleaded guilty in 1986 to conspiring to deliver national defense information to a foreign government and was sentenced to life
John W. Hinckley, Jr.00137-177BUT; released August 18, 1981Held at Butner as a pretrial detainee for psychiatric evaluation after the 1981 attempt on the President’s life
Carmine Persico74666-158BUT; death recorded March 7, 2019Colombo family boss; a federal court wrote in 1993 that he was serving sentences of 100 and 39 years, imposed in 1986 and 1987, and the 100-year sentence was affirmed in United States v. Salerno, 868 F.2d 524 (2d Cir. 1989)
Nicodemo Scarfo09813-050BUT; death recorded January 14, 2017Boss of the Philadelphia family of La Cosa Nostra, whose convictions were affirmed in United States v. Pungitore, 910 F.2d 1084 (3d Cir. 1990)
Graydon Earl Comstock, Jr.09056-031BUT; released December 9, 2011Same full name as the lead respondent in United States v. Comstock, the 2010 decision upholding § 4248

Kelly’s case shows why the location matters in court. When he sought an emergency furlough in June 2025, alleging a plot against his life, Judge Martha M. Pacold of the federal court in Chicago ruled on June 19, 2025, that the court lacked jurisdiction and did not decide the allegations. Habeas relief lies only in the district of confinement, she wrote, and Kelly “is currently housed at FCI Butner, which is located in Butner, North Carolina—outside this judicial district.”

Bernard Madoff and Carmine Persico

Bernard Madoff was not a Medium I prisoner when he died: the Locator carries him, register number 61727-054, at BUH, FMC Butner, with a death recorded on April 14, 2021. Listings that place him at Medium I, still “serving” 150 years, are out of date, and a 2017 story about his commissary dealings cannot be confirmed from the Locator, whose record keeps only a person’s last institution. Listings that describe Carmine Persico as “serving a 139-year sentence” are out of date as well: a federal court wrote in 1993 that he was serving sentences of 100 and 39 years, which together make 139, and the Locator records his death in 2019.

How do I find someone at FCI Butner Medium I?

Search the Bureau’s Inmate Locator by register number, or by first and last name, and look at the words after “Located at”: “Butner Medium I FCI” covers Medium I and its camp alike, and “Butner Medium II FCI,” “Butner Low FCI,” and “Butner FMC” are Butner’s other prisons. The Locator will not say whether a man is in the medium or the camp, so ask him, or ask his unit team through the switchboard at 919-575-4541. A common name can return many records, so match the register number and age before trusting a result. A pretrial detainee sent here for a court-ordered evaluation also shows as “Butner Medium I FCI.”

How do I write to someone at FCI Butner Medium I?

Write to the prisoner’s committed name and register number at FCI Butner Medium I, P.O. Box 1000, Butner, NC 27509, using the block the Bureau prints for the medium, with the name and number on the first line:

Inmate name and register number
FCI Butner Medium I
Federal Correctional Institution
P.O. Box 1000
Butner, NC 27509

For a man at the camp, the Bureau adds one line above the box:

Inmate name and register number
FCI Butner Medium I
Federal Correctional Institution
Satellite Camp
P.O. Box 1000
Butner, NC 27509

FCI Butner Low’s web page also shows a camp block with P.O. Box 1000; for a man at this camp, address the letter to FCI Butner Medium I as printed above. Our guide to writing to a federal prisoner covers the national rules.

The 2008 handbook says mail from lawyers, courts, members of Congress, and certain officials is opened in the prisoner’s presence, checked for contraband, and not read, but only if the sender is identified and the envelope is marked as special mail to be opened in his presence; unmarked, it may be opened and read. The Bureau’s mail page allows packages from home only for release clothing and authorized medical devices, which the 2008 handbook says need prior authorization, and says prisoners may receive magazines and books directly from the publisher. In the civil-commitment program’s housing, Program Statement 5324.10 allows unit-wide limits on publications and property, so ask the unit team before mailing books or photographs there.

How do I send money to someone at FCI Butner Medium I?

Money for someone at FCI Butner Medium I goes electronically or to the Bureau’s lockbox in Iowa, never to the prison. Medium I’s Bureau page says: “Do NOT send money to an inmate using this facility’s address.” Our page on sending money to federal prisoners covers the national system, and the Bureau’s instructions list three channels:

  • MoneyGram: receive code 7932; company name Federal Bureau of Prisons; city and state Washington, DC; the account number is the eight-digit register number followed at once by the last name (12345678DOE). Online transfers go up to $300.
  • Western Union Quick Collect: code city FBOP, DC, with the same account format; by telephone at 1-800-634-3422, option 2, or through Send2Corrections.
  • By mail: a money order, government check, cashier’s or certified check, or bank draft made out with the committed name and register number, sent to Federal Bureau of Prisons, the committed name, the register number, Post Office Box 474701, Des Moines, Iowa 50947-0001. No cash and no personal checks.

Electronic deposits sent between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. Eastern post within two to four hours, and later ones at 7:00 a.m. the next day. By mail, money orders other than U.S. postal ones and non-government checks are held 15 days, and foreign instruments 45 days, not the 60 days in the 2008 handbook. The Bureau says to wait until a prisoner has physically arrived at a Bureau facility before sending money, and money for his account should not be brought to a visit: the April 2026 supplement bars leaving money with staff for deposit. The Bureau’s line for a question about a deposit is 202-307-2712, and the $460 monthly commissary limit below caps what the money can buy.

What are the visiting hours at FCI Butner Medium I?

FCI Butner Medium I holds visiting on Saturdays, Sundays, and federal holidays from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., and on Fridays from 2:00 to 8:00 p.m. only for its Maryland and Annex units, under the complex supplement in force since April 1, 2026; the camp keeps the weekend hours and adds Friday evenings. General-population prisoners at the medium have no Friday visiting.

Complex Supplement BUX 5267.09A sets this schedule:

WhereDayHours
Medium ISaturday, Sunday, and federal holidays8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Medium I, Maryland and Annex units onlyFriday2:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Satellite campSaturday, Sunday, and federal holidays8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Satellite campFriday5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Processing stops at least 30 minutes before each session ends, and at 9:15 a.m. on weekends and holidays until the 10:00 a.m. count clears; visitors arriving then wait in their cars. For changes in hours, the supplement sends visitors to Medium II’s page on bop.gov, not Medium I’s, so check Medium I’s own page too and call before a long drive. Our federal prison visiting guide and the Bureau’s visiting regulations cover the rules that apply at every Bureau institution.

Which visiting schedule controls

The April 2026 supplement, the one in force, controls; two older Bureau documents still online disagree with it. The 2008 handbook the Bureau offers on Medium I’s page opens the medium to visitors on Mondays, Thursdays, and Fridays with no unit restriction. The institution’s 2017 supplement, BUT 5267.09.01A, still online but no longer linked from Medium I’s page, had already confined Friday visiting to the Maryland units, ended holiday visiting at 1:00 p.m., and used a 16-point monthly allowance in which a weekend visit cost four points. The 2026 supplement drops the points for Medium I and the camp, stating that “No limitations are placed on the frequency of visits,” though the warden may impose limits to prevent overcrowding.

Spanish readers should use the April 2026 Spanish edition the Bureau links. The unlinked Spanish rendering of the 2017 supplement prints its number as “PERO 5267.09.01A,” turning the code BUT into the Spanish word for “but.”

Who can visit, and how many

Medium I allows three adults at a time, counting anyone 16 or older as an adult, and sets no limit on younger children; a 16- or 17-year-old coming without a parent, guardian, or adult immediate-family member needs one of them to approve in writing beforehand. The camp allows six visitors at a time, children included. Every visitor must be on the approved list: immediate family plus up to ten friends or associates, ordinarily people known before prison. During admission and orientation, or in holdover status without a list, only verified immediate family may visit.

Two local rules apply to particular prisoners. A man identified as convicted of a sex offense involving a minor is seated closest to the officer’s station. Men with a Walsh Act classification and men with a history of escape attempts may sit in the visiting room only under direct supervision, and the supplement bars “either classification” from visits on the outdoor patio. At the camp, visitors may not linger in the parking lot in front of the Administration Building, and leaving the visiting area ends the visit.

What visitors can wear and bring

Dress modestly: shorts and dresses must touch the knee while standing, and the supplement bars khaki, camouflage, and ranger-green clothing, outerwear, sleeveless or form-fitting clothes, and open-toed shoes. Each visitor may carry up to $20 in coins, in a clear bag no larger than 8 by 6 by 2 inches, plus a wedding ring set, sanitary products, one religious medallion, one religious head covering, and one pair of stud earrings. Paper money, watches, wallets, pens, papers, photographs, outside food, tobacco, and communication devices are among the barred items, and visitors may not bring in items to give a prisoner without prior approval from the Deputy Captain or Complex Captain.

For a child aged three or younger, a parent may bring bottles, unopened formula and baby food, diapers, wipes, a change of clothes, and a pacifier, but no stroller or carrier; Medium I’s nursing area is Attorney Conference Room 3.

Identification and screening

Every visitor 16 or older needs valid government-issued photo identification, and an altered, defaced, or expired card is refused. That is stricter than the 2008 handbook the Bureau still offers, which accepted two other documents, such as a credit card and a Social Security card, in place of a license. Each visitor must sign the Notification to Visitor form, BP-224, or be turned away, and each prisoner undergoes a visual search and a hand-held metal-detector scan after the visit.

Getting there

From Raleigh, take U.S. 70 West to Interstate 85 North; from Durham, start on I-85 North. The supplement then runs nine miles to exit 189: turn left on Central Avenue, right on Veazy Street and left at the stop sign onto Old Highway 75, and continue about a mile. It puts the Low and “FCI Butner” on the first right, the camp, which it calls FPC Butner, on the second, and the medical center on the third. Park only in the area marked Visitors Parking.

FCI Butner Medium I and its satellite camp, Old NC Highway 75, Butner, in Granville County. Get driving directions.

How do phone calls and email work at FCI Butner Medium I?

Men at Medium I and the camp call through the Bureau’s Inmate Telephone System and send text-only messages through TRULINCS. Under the Bureau’s telephone regulations, Program Statement 5264.09, issued September 3, 2026, each man with a telephone account may use 510 minutes a calendar month; those eligible for First Step Act telephone incentives get 300 of them at no charge, and anyone who has used up the 300, eligible or not, may buy the other 210. A single call should generally not exceed 15 minutes, with at least 30 minutes between completed calls, and unmonitored legal calls do not count against the 510.

The holiday supplement of extra minutes did not survive the new policy, and the 2008 handbook’s account of a nine-digit access code and 30 approved numbers predates it. Our page on federal prison phone calls explains the rest.

Email runs through TRULINCS: messages carry text only, with no attachments, and the prisoner has no internet access. Men in the civil-commitment program can face tighter limits; the detainee in Ballard challenged restrictions on both his mail and his telephone use.

What can people buy at the FCI Butner Medium I commissary?

People at FCI Butner Medium I can spend up to $460 a month on ordinary commissary purchases, and the 2022 list the Bureau posts runs from radios and calculators to reading glasses, typewriter supplies, and religious items. The Bureau’s trust fund rules, Program Statement 4500.13, issued May 7, 2026, set that national limit, raising it from $360. The 2008 handbook the Bureau offers still says $290, and older listings give $360, divided into $180 every two weeks; both figures are obsolete. Our guide to commissary items covers the national rules.

The limit rises by $50 during the November–December holiday period, for no more than one validation period. The program statement’s list of exclusions includes stamps, nicotine-replacement products, over-the-counter medicines and vitamins, copy cards, sneakers and safety shoes, mattresses, and a secured media device; telephone credit is not on it.

The commissary list the Bureau posts for Medium I dates from 2022, so its prices are nearly four years old. Its rules still hold that sales are final and nothing can be added once the order form is in, a caret marks items outside the limit, and religious items such as a kufi or a Rastafarian crown need the chaplain’s approval.

Beside a Sangean radio at $62.35, a Casio solar scientific calculator at $16.00, and reading glasses at $3.25, the 2022 list carried typewriter supplies: a Brother daisy wheel at $58.20, a Swintec print wheel at $49.35, and correction ribbons. Those supplies serve anyone preparing court papers, because the legal-activities policy the Bureau links from Medium I’s page, Program Statement 1315.08 (2026), no longer requires a physical law library and moves legal materials to an electronic one.

What programs are available at FCI Butner Medium I?

FCI Butner Medium I offers the Residential Drug Abuse Program and the Mental Health Step Down Program, the two residential programs the Bureau’s August 2026 First Step Act Approved Programs Guide assigns to it by name, and the guide’s Federal Prison Industries cell lists it as well. A program on paper is not a seat in a class, so put every request to the unit team in writing and keep a copy.

RDAP and drug treatment

Medium I has a Residential Drug Abuse Program. The RDAP list in the August 2026 guide includes “FCI-I Butner (NC)” and, on a separate line, “FCI-II Butner (NC)”; it has no entry for the Butner camp. The Bureau’s psychology brochure says the complex runs two residential programs, at FCI-I and FCI-II, each 500 hours over nine months in a modified therapeutic community. It says a dual-diagnosis component was added in 2021 and that one of the two units offers it, and its staff list describes the FCI-II program, not Medium I’s, as “blended (small portion of dual diagnosis).” It also describes medication-assisted treatment offered alongside residential and outpatient care.

Finishing the program can shorten a sentence. Under 18 U.S.C. § 3621(e)(2)(B) and the rules in the Bureau’s RDAP policy, the Bureau may reduce the custody time of a prisoner convicted of a nonviolent offense who completes it, by no more than one year. A man at the camp who wants the program has none at the camp itself. Our page on RDAP and early release covers the rules.

The Mental Health Step Down Program

Medium I is Butner’s home for the Bureau’s Mental Health Step Down Program, a residential unit, in the Inspector General’s words, “for inmates with serious mental illnesses who cannot function in a general population prison setting.” The August 2026 guide gives BUT as a location for the 500-hour program, and the psychology brochure places it at “FCI-I,” for people with “psychotic disorders, major depression, and bipolar disorder.” A 2015 Bureau program directory, as the Inspector General reprinted it in 2017, said participation is voluntary, formal programming runs half-days five days a week over 12 to 18 months, and the program was offered at FCI Butner, listed as medium security, and at the U.S. penitentiaries in Atlanta and Allenwood.

Education and vocational training

The August 2026 guide’s description cells assign Medium I no education program. Its by-institution grid marks Medium I for the Bureau Literacy Program, English as a second language, apprenticeship, and vocational training, but those programs’ own cells say only that they may be offered at any Bureau institution, and Medium I is not among the sixteen places where the guide records Pell-funded college programs. Ask the education department what runs now.

Work and UNICOR

The guide’s Federal Prison Industries cell lists BUT twice, a duplicate it does not explain, so the cell says nothing about the size of any factory here. UNICOR’s Eyewear and Optics page gives its factory manager’s number as 919-575-4541, extension 3200, which is Medium I’s switchboard, and places the factory in Butner, North Carolina, without naming the institution that houses it.

Faith-based and reentry programs

The guide lists FCC Butner, the complex as a whole, for the Alternatives to Violence Project, an 18-hour activity. Its grid also marks Medium I, and not Medium II, for Illness Management and Recovery, Social Skills Training, the Wellness Recovery Action Plan, supported employment, Celebrate Recovery Inside, and the Aleph correspondence course; treat those marks as questions for the unit team rather than a timetable.

For release planning, the Bureau’s community corrections transfer procedures, Program Statement 7310.04 (1998), have staff send release plans to the probation office in the proposed district of supervision when that is not the sentencing district. Halfway-house placement is built around where a man is going, not around Butner.

What is daily life like at FCI Butner Medium I?

Daily life at FCI Butner Medium I runs on counts, pill lines, and a 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. workday, in housing that mixes shared cells and open bays. The only published account of the routine is Medium I’s 2008 handbook, so treat every time below as something to confirm, not a current rule.

The shape of the day

The handbook lays out a weekday like this:

TimeWhat happens
Midnight, 3:00 a.m., and 5:00 a.m.Official counts; staff must see each man, waking him if necessary
6:00 a.m.Wake-up at the medium and the camp; insulin line
6:30 to 7:00 a.m. (camp 7:15 to 7:45)Sick call on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday
7:00 a.m., 11:30 a.m., and 7:30 p.m.Pill lines at the medium; the camp’s ran at 6:45 a.m., 11:45 a.m., and 7:30 p.m.
7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.Regular work hours; moving between areas requires a pass
4:00 p.m.Official count; the afternoon insulin line follows at 4:30
9:00 p.m.Official count; unit staff are available most evenings until this hour
6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.Men may visit other rooms in their own unit, door open

Weekends and holidays add a 10:00 a.m. count and move the pill lines, and beds had to be made before work call.

Housing

Medium I mixes cells and open bays. The January 2026 audit form counts 26 buildings and 17 housing units for the medium and camp together: nine units of shared cells, eight open-bay or dormitory units, and no single-cell units. The Inspector General wrote in 2021 that some Medium I prisoners “share rooms with solid doors” while others have beds in “open-bay, communal areas,” that camp prisoners sleep in “unenclosed cubicles,” and that nearly everyone uses communal bathrooms.

The 2008 handbook named the medium’s units after Atlantic Coast Conference universities, with State and Wake Forest holding the drug program and Duke the chronic mental-health unit; the camp’s units were Catawba and Hatteras. On January 13, 2026, the audit’s first day, the medium and camp held 772 men against designated capacities of 492 and 303, and the form records that the complex had been over capacity at some point in the previous 12 months. The same count recorded no one there as deaf or hard of hearing, blind, or disabled.

Health care

The medium and camp are Care Level 3 institutions in the Inspector General’s 2021 account, and FMC Butner, a Level 4 medical center, is on the same road. The audit form records ages from 21 to 84 in the medium and from 23 to 79 at the camp. Before March 27, 2020, the Inspector General reported, the medical center stopped routine treatment trips from the other institutions, moving men with greater needs into FMC Butner and sending some of its medical staff out so that treatments such as dialysis, wound care, and physical therapy could continue.

Elizabeth Franklin-Best, P.C.’s video on FCI Butner Medium I, published on YouTube in January 2022. Visiting rules and spending limits have changed since it was published.

What do inspectors say about conditions at FCI Butner Medium I?

The fullest outside account of conditions at FCI Butner Medium I and its camp is the Inspector General’s January 2021 report on the complex’s COVID-19 outbreak, compiled by telephone and from documents; the most recent is the complex-wide PREA audit carried out on site in January 2026, which found all 45 standards met.

The DOJ Office of the Inspector General has not conducted an on-site inspection of this facility.

The Inspector General’s May 2026 report on USP Canaan counts inspections at 14 Bureau institutions since 2023, and Medium I is not among them. Its staff have been inside for other work. In 2014, for a review of the aging prison population, they visited “FCI Butner Medium I and Camp” in person, chosen because the Butner institutions had the Bureau’s highest share of older prisoners, and interviewed prisoners and toured housing units; and for a medical-contract audit issued in November 2013, its auditors did audit work at the complex. Neither was an inspection of conditions.

The 2020 COVID-19 outbreak

The Inspector General’s Pandemic Response Report 21-031 was a remote review: between May 6 and July 25, 2020, its team worked from telephone interviews, documents, and data, and could not meet staff or prisoners. It still records more about Medium I and the camp than any other public document:

  • Butner’s first prisoner case, identified around March 27, 2020, was a Medium I man who had not reported his symptoms; he died in a hospital on April 11, the complex’s first COVID-19 death. Medium I confined everyone except food-service workers to their units on March 27 and gave out masks over the next two days, before the CDC and the Bureau recommended face coverings.
  • The camp did not lock down its housing units until April 16, 2020, a day after its first prisoner tested positive; its warden said men had moved freely to recreation and meals until then, although Butner officials later described movement as restricted “to the best of our abilities.” When the camp tested all 217 of its prisoners from April 24, 166 were positive; in April, 28 of 52 men quarantined together before leaving the institution tested positive.
  • By June 2020 the medium was isolating sick men but not quarantining their close contacts, because, officials said, nearly everyone had been in close contact and space was short.
  • Medium I and the camp were “managed together,” so the same officers kept working both during staff shortages, and they also covered the Low’s segregation unit, where sick men from both were isolated.
  • On July 25, 2020, Medium I held 616 men and had recorded 95 positive cases; the camp held 181 and had recorded 216, more than its population that day because men moved in and out. Unlike the camp and the Low, the medium had no facility-wide testing during the review.

In April and May 2020, the Bureau announced the deaths of nine men from Medium I and its camp who had tested positive for COVID-19 and died between April 11 and May 26, seven from the medium and two from the camp. The Inmate Locator’s records file eight of them under BUT, each with a recorded death; the ninth notice used the placeholder “John Doe.” The notices, with the register numbers:

Date of deathName and age in the noticeHeld atRegister number
April 11, 2020Charles Richard Rootes, 81Medium I95255-131
April 12, 2020Gary Edward Nixon, 57Medium I21564-056
April 12, 2020Andre Williams, 78Medium I05933-017
April 13, 2020“John Doe,” 46Medium INot given
April 16, 2020Fabian Tinsley, 67Medium I35909-007
April 28, 2020William Walker Minto, 73Camp20529-074
May 6, 2020William E. Miller, 58Medium I22111-055
May 15, 2020Jerry Lynn Dempsey, 59Medium I22917-298
May 26, 2020Isaac Lamar Byers, 52Camp27114-058

For the complex as a whole, the Inspector General counted 25 prisoner deaths from COVID-19 by July 25, 2020, and 27 by January 17, 2021.

The January 2026 PREA audit

The latest outside audit covers the whole complex. Brian Sutherland of Corrections Consulting Services, LLC audited FCC Butner under the Prison Rape Elimination Act on site from January 13 to 15, 2026, and his final report, dated February 26, 2026, found all 45 standards met, none exceeded, and none unmet. The Bureau links it from Medium I’s page as the “FCI Butner Medium I PREA Report,” but the document names the Federal Correctional Complex. Our page on the Bureau’s sexual-abuse prevention policy explains the standards.

The audit form gives Medium I and the camp their own columns for these measures:

Measure on the 2026 audit formMedium ICamp
Designated capacity492303
Population on the pre-audit questionnaire494247
Average daily population, prior 12 months520239
Age range21 to 8423 to 79
Average length of stay (unit not stated)668.5376.5

The auditor interviewed 31 randomly chosen prisoners across the complex and reached out to the Durham Crisis Response Center. On January 13, 2026, the complex held 9 people who had reported sexual abuse there and 46 who had reported sexual harassment, and none had been placed in segregation for their protection or for reporting.

Sexual-abuse allegations counted by GAO

The Government Accountability Office’s May 5, 2026, report, GAO-26-107343, counts allegations, not findings. Its Table 7 lists 66 allegations against other prisoners at “Butner Medium I” by year of incident from 2020 through 2024, 29 of them in 2024, and its Table 8 lists 19 against Bureau staff at “Butner I” by year reported; the two tables come from different systems and cannot be added, and GAO does not say whether either includes the camp. Nationally, most of the allegations GAO analyzed from 2014 through 2022 ended unsubstantiated, which means the evidence did not settle what happened, not that the report was false, and because GAO does not adjust for population, the counts do not rank prisons.

Other audits

The Inspector General’s Audit Report 14-02, issued in November 2013, examined the complex’s 2007–2012 medical services contract with Medical Development International, which grew to $107,271,650. It found $140,819 in payments whose accuracy could not be determined because a time clock for on-site providers was not consistently enforced, and found that the contractor had not paid Duke University Health System, which obtained an agreed judgment of $13,916,622 that neither Duke nor the company’s receiver expected to be paid; the Bureau knew of the nonpayment in November 2010 but did not warn its other institutions until February 2012. Audit Report 26-021, issued in February 2026, checked one week of the complex’s menus from records alone: 71 percent of the certified religious meals tested lacked a record that required vegetables were served, which, the Inspector General cautioned, “does not necessarily mean the items were not served.”

FCI Butner Medium I in the news

Recent news about FCI Butner Medium I centers on a camp resident’s arrest in April 2026 and a pretrial detainee’s death in July 2025; older items concern COVID-19 deaths, a 2020 disturbance that led to a mutiny conviction, the telephone system’s 1989 pilot, John Hinckley’s 1981 evaluation, and the institution’s 1976 dedication. Items about this institution or its camp, newest first. Criminal charges are allegations unless a court record says otherwise.

  • April 2026: Antwan Lopez Clemons (11880-511), who had lived at Medium I’s camp since July 2, 2025, and was present for the 5:00 a.m. count on April 20, according to a Bureau statement ABC11 published, was arrested that morning in Lee County after what ABC11 reported as a hostage situation; the state charges, including first-degree kidnapping, are allegations. The Locator’s record for him carries Medium I’s code, BUT, and its screen reads “Escaped On: 04/20/2026”; no Bureau news release reports it.
  • July 2025: Darrell Wayne Lunsford (38452-511), 56, held at Medium I since June 4, 2025, for a court-ordered competency evaluation, was found at about 7:00 a.m. on July 28 “with perceived life-threatening injuries.” Staff “initiated life-saving measures,” and while being prepared for transport to a local hospital he “became unresponsive and was subsequently pronounced deceased by medical personnel,” according to the Bureau’s news release.
  • April 2020 to March 2022: the Bureau posted 11 news releases, each titled “Inmate Death at FCI Butner I,” reporting the deaths of people held at this institution or its camp; the Bureau’s releases are listed on its press release page.
  • January 2022: James Allen Myers (26059-171), 73, who had first tested positive for COVID-19 in May 2020, tested positive again at a hospital and was pronounced deceased by hospital staff on January 25, 2022, the Bureau said.
  • May 2020: a federal grand jury indicted two men held at “FCI Butner I” over an April 22, 2020, disturbance in which, prosecutors alleged, one sprayed staff with a fire extinguisher during a dispute about housing assignments and barricaded a unit door. The charges were brought under 18 U.S.C. §§ 111 and 1792. In April 2021 the U.S. Attorney announced that a jury had convicted the man accused of spraying the extinguisher of participating in a mutiny; the announcement does not mention the second man. The case, No. 5:20-cr-00210 (E.D.N.C.), closed on July 19, 2021.
  • 1989: after “a successful six-month pilot program at the Federal Correctional Institution in Butner, North Carolina,” the Bureau approved deploying its Inmate Telephone System throughout its prisons, according to the Inspector General’s 1999 report.
  • 1981: John W. Hinckley, Jr. was held at Butner for psychiatric evaluation from April 2 to August 17, according to the federal court in Washington; the D.C. Circuit later upheld the suppression of a personal document that a Butner officer read during a cell search and prison officials then seized.
  • May 13, 1976: the institution was dedicated and, as the Bureau’s psychology brochure recalls, “immediately dubbed ‘the most advanced prison facility on earth.’”

Frequently asked questions about FCI Butner Medium I

Is FCI Butner Medium I the same as FCI Butner?

Often, but not always. The Bureau’s psychology brochure calls the 1976 institution “now called Federal Correctional Institute (FCI) Butner,” yet court orders and news reports use “FCI Butner” without saying which of the complex’s institutions they mean. Check the name the Inmate Locator shows: “Butner Medium I FCI” is Medium I and its camp, while “Butner Medium II FCI,” “Butner Low FCI,” and “Butner FMC” are Medium II, the Low, and the medical center.

What is the mailing address for FCI Butner Medium I?

Write the prisoner’s committed name and register number, then FCI Butner Medium I, Federal Correctional Institution, P.O. Box 1000, Butner, NC 27509. For a man at the camp, add a Satellite Camp line above the box number. Never send money to this address.

When can families visit FCI Butner Medium I?

Saturdays, Sundays, and federal holidays from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., under the complex supplement dated April 1, 2026. Friday visiting at the medium, from 2:00 to 8:00 p.m., is only for the Maryland and Annex units; the camp also visits on Fridays from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m.

Does FCI Butner Medium I have a camp?

Yes. The minimum-security satellite camp is part of Medium I: it held 287 men as of September 2026, it shares Medium I’s P.O. Box 1000 and telephone number, and the Inmate Locator’s records file its residents under Medium I’s code.

Are civilly committed sex offenders held at FCI Butner Medium I?

Yes. The Bureau’s Commitment and Treatment Program, for men certified or committed as sexually dangerous under 18 U.S.C. § 4248, is staffed at Medium I according to the Bureau’s 2026–2027 psychology brochure. A certificate stays a prisoner’s release, so these men can remain in custody after their criminal sentences end.

Is R. Kelly at FCI Butner Medium I?

Yes. The Bureau’s Inmate Locator lists Robert Sylvester Kelly, the singer known as R. Kelly, at “Butner Medium I FCI” under register number 09627-035, with a projected release date of January 31, 2046. Locator entries change, so check it again before relying on it.

Can you send money directly to FCI Butner Medium I?

No. Medium I’s Bureau page says not to send money using the facility’s address. Use MoneyGram with receive code 7932, Western Union Quick Collect with code city FBOP, DC, or mail a money order to Federal Bureau of Prisons, the committed name and register number, Post Office Box 474701, Des Moines, Iowa 50947-0001.

What is the commissary spending limit at FCI Butner Medium I?

$460 a month in ordinary purchases, the national limit Program Statement 4500.13 set in May 2026, plus $50 during the November–December holiday period for one validation period. The 2008 handbook the Bureau still offers says $290, and older web pages say $360; both figures are obsolete.

Does FCI Butner Medium I have RDAP?

Yes. The RDAP list in the Bureau’s August 2026 First Step Act guide includes “FCI-I Butner,” and the Bureau’s psychology brochure describes 500-hour programs lasting nine months at FCI-I and FCI-II. The list has no entry for the Butner camp, so a man at the camp who wants the program has none at the camp itself.

Which court hears a habeas petition from FCI Butner Medium I?

The U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina. A § 2241 petition challenging present confinement belongs in the district of confinement, and 28 U.S.C. § 113(a) keeps the Butner prison in the Eastern District even where its land lies in Durham County. A § 2255 motion goes to the sentencing court instead.

Has FCI Butner Medium I been inspected?

The DOJ Office of the Inspector General has not conducted an on-site inspection of this facility. Its staff visited Medium I and the camp in person in 2014 for a review of older prisoners and examined the complex’s COVID-19 response remotely in 2020, and the complex met all 45 standards in a PREA audit conducted on site in January 2026.

What medical care level is FCI Butner Medium I?

The Bureau’s 2024 medical care-level chart, released under the Freedom of Information Act, lists the medium and its camp at Care Level 3, as the Inspector General also reported in January 2021; its undated mental-health chart lists the medium at Level 3 and the camp at Level 2. FMC Butner, on the same road, is Level 4, the highest on the Bureau’s scale.

Problems at FCI Butner Medium I: where we can help

What goes wrong at Medium I follows from its record: a civil-commitment program that can stop a release date, classification factors that bar some men from the camp, and Bureau documents that disagree with one another.

  • Compassionate release. The Bureau’s compassionate release policy, Program Statement 5050.51, dated September 3, 2026, lets people in halfway houses and on home confinement submit requests, aligns its categories with USSG § 1B1.13 (Nov. 1, 2023), and drops the separate categories for child and spouse caregivers and for elderly prisoners who had served a set share of their terms. A prisoner may go to the sentencing court after a final Bureau decision or 30 days after the warden receives his request, whichever is earlier; see our page on the request to the warden. The policy requires notice of that right in inmate handbooks, yet Medium I’s 2008 handbook never mentions compassionate release.
  • Civil commitment under § 4248. A certificate stays a release that was about to happen, and the case is heard in the Eastern District of North Carolina, where the government must prove sexual dangerousness by clear and convincing evidence. A family that learns of a referral should ask early how the commitment case interacts with any post-conviction relief still open.
  • Section 2241 petitions, § 2255 motions, and appeals. A dispute about how the Bureau is carrying out a sentence, such as credits or a release date, is a § 2241 petition in the Eastern District of North Carolina; a challenge to the conviction or sentence is a § 2255 motion in the sentencing court, and an appeal from the judgment goes to the court of appeals for the circuit that includes the sentencing district.
  • Early release: RDAP, First Step Act time credits, and sentence computation. Medium I runs RDAP and the camp does not. The Bureau calculates the RDAP reduction, the credits, and the date a man can leave for a halfway house, and those calculations are worth checking.
  • Security classification and camp placement. The Sex Offender and Sentence Length factors keep men out of the camp whatever their score, and the first can apply without a conviction. The Bureau’s administrative remedy program exists, in Program Statement 1330.18’s words, for review of “any aspect” of a prisoner’s own confinement; our guide explains how to file a BP-9.
  • Home confinement and halfway-house timing, which follow the district where a man will be supervised; planning should start there, well before the date the Bureau computes.

Elizabeth Franklin-Best, P.C. handles federal criminal defense, appeals and post-conviction matters nationwide, and advises families on Bureau of Prisons issues at institutions across the system. Call (843) 620-1100 or contact us to talk through a specific situation.

Christopher Zoukis, JD, MBA, the firm’s Managing Director, writes and maintains the federal prison policy material on this site. He is not counsel of record; legal representation is provided by Elizabeth Franklin-Best.

Sources and currency

Bureau of Prisons documents

Audits and inspections

Court records

News and other sources

Sources reviewed September 2026.

Reviewed for legal accuracy by Elizabeth Franklin-Best, Esq., Principal Attorney·September 2026

Contact Our Experienced Federal Criminal Defense Lawyer for Legal Help

Choosing the right federal defense team can make a difficult situation feel more manageable. At Elizabeth Franklin-Best P.C., we take the time to listen, answer questions, and provide the clarity people need to make informed choices about their future.

Schedule an Initial Consultation

This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
The 8-digit BOP register number, if you have it.
This field is required.
Please include the full name of the person involved, the state and federal court (if known), the charge or stage of the case, and a brief description of the situation. If you are contacting us about a family member, tell us their name and where their case is located.
This field is required.
Scroll to Top